First 13.1 / 8 week 26.2 Countdown

I ran my first Half Marathon Saturday! It was an awesome and fun experience. My final time was 2:09.49.3. Not to shabby for my first every half race. I would have been faster if the course was not all rolling hills and 2 big hills: 1 in the beginning and one at the end. I train here in Chicago and there are not many hills compared to the ones I faced Saturday.

I woke up at 5:30 to get ready before the 40 minute drive to the town of Parkersburg, WV for the start of the race at 8am. I did my usual morning routine and made a bagel with peanut butter and took a couple bananas with me for the ride. All i had was half the bagel and a full 32oz gatorade. I was too full to finish the other half the bagel and banana.

My mom, dad, and I got to town at 6:45, and i had plenty of time to stretch and get warmed up. We walked around and looked at the finish and starting lines, with surprisingly not many people there yet. 7:30 came rolling along an more and more people kept showing up. I went to the restroom one last time and was ready to get started. I thought i was going to be more nervous than i was, which was a good thing. I was more anxious than anything. All i wanted was to get out there and run.

I ended up knowing about 10 or so others in the race itself. We chatted a little bit, and wished each other luck. Along the course not many people felt like talking as much as i did. I love talking to others and can all day while running that far. It makes the miles go by faster.

I started off good and by the first hill at mile 1.5 was feeling pretty good. Pace at 8:35. I knew this was too fast but i felt great. I decided to slow down a little bit so i could have gas at the end of the race, as i knew i would need it. I was at 1 hr 2 minutes at the half way mark, and told myself i needed to pick it up a little bit to make my goal of 2 hours. I shouldn’t have done that as i had to stop a couple times on mile 11, 12 and 13 for about 30 seconds each time. I hates stopping to walk but felt like i needed too in order to finish. I felt disappointed but knew it was okay being my first race that long.

The dreaded 13th street hill, everyone talked about, was right around the corner at mile 11.5. Just before my girlfriend and her mom and uncle met me to cheer me on and give me the extra oomph to get my butt over to the other side. I ended up walking about 30 seconds of the hill, as it was way too much for the likes of me(i will conquer this next year!).

I did take a couple GU gels(for the first time) at mile 6 and 10, and have decided they are not for me. The texture of the gel in my mouth, about made me throw up. I am going to try the chews on my next run, and see how they respond with me.

In the last mile there more spectators and people i knew cheering me on. I walked about 30 second in the last mile to catch my breath before finishing strong. A couple blocks from the finish line my family and girlfriends family were on both sides of the street yelling and cheering to make sure i went out strong. Before that i heard my name being screamed from what i think were friends from college, but i was so dazed that i couldn’t make them out. I ended up sprinting(or what i though was sprinting at this point) the final 1.5 blocks and my calves got so tight that i though i might fall over, but i didn’t! Finally it was over but i felt great! I couldn’t run anymore but felt the adrenaline rush and was on a high.

The best part about finishing was having a nice volunteer lady put a finishers medal over my neck and say congratulations. I got a banana, grapes, and water and found my family. It was great to have them there to support me and share in the experience.

I now have 8 weeks til the big day of the Chicago Marathon and have a lot of long run training before i get there. I am excited but know it will be a long and tiring 2 months, but will be well worth it!

I took the day off Sunday, and rested my legs and body from the toll it took Saturday, but got after it on a 3 mile run Monday evening. My thighs were still so sore from the hill runs during the race, and Mondays run helped loosen my muscles and today i feel great!

Tonight’s run is planned for 7 miles-the longest midweek run so far. It’s a hot 90 degrees and muggy here so im hoping for a good/pleasant run. We’ll see!

2 Comments

  1. Congratulations on finishing your first half! Great time!

Trackbacks

  1. Getting Physched to Train | SIMPLE RUNNER

Leave a comment